About the Tort Museum

A museum with a message

The mission of the nationally acclaimed American Museum of Tort Law is to educate, inform and inspire Americans about two things: Trial by jury; and the benefits of tort law. Tort law is the law of wrongful injuries, including motor vehicle crashes, defective products, medical malpractice, and environmental disasters, among many others.

And trial by jury is a bedrock American right, guaranteed in our Bill of Rights.

Visitors to the Museum will enjoy learning about tort law and trial by jury, and see how both have improved the lives, not only of those injured, but all of us. The Museum has one gallery of important precedent-setting cases; another gallery exhibiting dangerous toys; and a third with interactive panels, which let visitors learn about seven cases in detail. In addition, our theater runs a brief (11 minute) movie which traces the evolution (and importance) of trial by jury and tort law. The main gallery features cases which made a difference not only to the injured victims, but to everyone: Cases like the Ford Pinto, Liebeck v. McDonalds, and the tobacco and asbestos litigation, among others.

On November 1, 2017 Congressman Larson recognized the museum. Read his statement in the Congressional Record here.

Ralph Nader

Our Founders

C. Michael Alder
Ray C. Anderson*
Peter Angelos
F. Scott Baldwin*
Frederick Baron*
Joseph W. Belluck
Marc J. Bern
Michael J. Bidart
David William Boone*
James E. Butler Jr.
Joan B. Claybrook
Robert Clifford
Joseph W. Cotchett
Phil Donahue
Ricardo Echeverria
Thomas Fortune Fay
James E. Fitzgerald
Thomas V. Girardi
J. Gary Gwilliam
Robert L. Habush
Richard P. Hogan Jr.
Wayne Hogan

James F. Humphreys
J. Robert Hunter
Tommy Jacks
Joseph D. Jamail Jr.*
Gloria & Henry Jarecki
Greg Kafoury
Robert G. Kerrigan
J.D. Lee
Fredric G. Levin*
Pamela Liapakis
Sal Liccardo
Thomas W. Malone*
Carl J. Mayer
Mark & Natalie McDougal
Richard Warren Mithoff
Robert M. Montgomery*
Claire Nader
James H. Nance
Joseph A. Page
Brian Panish
Joseph A. Power Jr.
Edward M. Ricci

John Richard
Victor E. Schwartz
William M. Shernoff
Samya Rose Stumo
Edward M. Swartz*
Lanny S. Vines*
Mona Lisa Wallace
Matt Wuerker
C. Steven Yerrid
Center for Study of Responsive Law
Consumer Reports
Cummings Foundation Inc.
Nader’s Raiders
Public Citizen
Public Safety Institute
Safety Systems Foundation
The Shafeek Nader Trust for Community Interest

* deceased